French Toast and gas

Standard

I love the South for lots of reasons.

For almost a week now, there’s been talk of the weather.  Radio DJs and TV weathermen have been hinting around that there might be some snow on its way.  They talk about it sometime just by referring to it as the “‘S’ word.”  It sends my students into a tizzy with even the slightest possibility.

So imagine the excitement of my 12th graders, who get just as excited about rain or a siren going past the school as most elementary school students do, when they heard that we would be let out an hour and a half early today.  Kids who had just been sitting there, somewhat despondent during class, now were full of life;  smiling from ear to ear.  Their eyes sparkled and it made me, a “Yankee” from Ohio, think about how similar their energy and excitement over a snow day is to that of kids preparing for a major holiday!  I’m guessing their parents see the same look on Christmas morning!

As I drove home on the wet roads, with snow coming down, I noticed a few things.  A) People in Memphis can’t drive – but ESPECIALLY when there is snow coming down.  B) The grocery store parking lots were full.  C) There were long lines at the gas pumps.

No doubt folks were stopping by a store to get the essential bread, milk, and eggs, as well as to top off their tank, before the weather gets worse.

I hope everyone here in the Mid-South enjoys a short day, perhaps a snow day tomorrow, and some darn good French Toast!  Stay safe and warm!

Leave a comment